Sound Spaces 2020
New Music Festival
16 October 2020 - 31 October 2020

SOUND SPACES was born in 2018, with the aim to provide the city of Malmö with new music, opening up the ears and minds towards the most cutting-edge international sound-based creation.

SOUND SPACES is an open window towards nowadays post-classical music world, with internationally active composers and sound artists who are invited to create and perform, infusing different spaces of Malmö with their art. Due to the Covid-19 pandemic, the festival had to be postponed last spring.

Programme at IAC

Ars Nova Ensemble
Friday, 16 October, at 19.00, Red Room
The Festival will start at IAC with Malmö’s own Ars Nova ensemble, the only active new music ensemble in Southern Sweden. This year Ars Nova will offer a new programme where giants as Rebecca Saunders and George Crumb sharing spaces with Jonatan Sersam, Suzanne Farrin and Danish composers Mette Nielsen and Ivar Frounberg.

Learn more about the event – Ars Nova Ensemble

Double trouble / Irene Bianco
Saturday, 17 October, at 19.00, Red Room

Irene Bianco, based in Copenhagen, is an eclectic percussionist and a curious artist that loves to cross boundaries and experiment between different music genres.

Learn more about the event – Double trouble / Irene Bianco

Sant’Efisio / Sound installation
Friday, 23 October, at 17.30 (opening),
Saturday, 24 October, 14.00-22.00, Black Room

A sound installation by a collective of six composers who delved into Sardinian traditions, between religion and folklore.

Learn more about the event – Sant’Efisio / Sound installation

Eventuell. human / eventuell. duo
Saturday, 24 October, at 19.00, Black Room

The swiss duo eventuell. – founded in 2015 by Manuela Villiger and Vera Wahl – passionately dedicate themselves to contemporary music and its adequate performance, not limited to saxophone works, but to any kind of art performance including light and video staging.

Learn more about the event – Eventuell. human / eventuell. duo

Buy tickets via or at the door. 50 kr/concert, installation is free.

Download the entire programme on Hertzbreakerz’ homepage (PDF, 2,8 MB), new tab

Agata Tuchołka, Natalie Eriksson, Madalena Rodrigues, Hillevi Hillerud, Francesco Del Nero, Jonatan Sersam, Alessandro Perini, Irene Bianco, Enrico Garau, Lucio Garau, Riccardo Sarti, Manuela Villiger, Vera Wahl