Öresund Collegium for Artistic Research
Artistic Research at Malmö Theatre Academy
21 September 2020 - 30 June 2021

The Öresund Collegium for Artistic Research is based at the Malmö Theatre Academy (Faculty of Fine and Performing Arts, LU). It combines PhD studies and postdoctoral research related to, or relevant for, performing arts, with a special focus on interdisciplinary, transdisciplinary and inter-artistic collaborations.

The collegium provides a space and occasion for actual knowledge formation in a collegial and confidential setting. It aims to develop collaborations with researchers, artists and their respective institutions in the Öresund region. Its point of departure resides in the fertile and versatile artistic and academic culture prevailing in the area: the three academies of the Faculty of Fine and Performing Arts, the other faculties of Lund University, the neighbouring universities on both sides of the Öresund, as well as a plethora of local artistic, cultural, social and ecological agents. The collegium aims to enrich this landscape with the ideas and initiatives arising from the research in performing arts.

The collegium days, which take place once a month at the facilities of the IAC, feature research expositions of the postdoctoral projects from both LU and elsewhere, visits from national and international experts, as well as PhD studies (including the intermediary seminars of the doctoral students and their thesis defences). The collegium addresses practitioners, researchers and students interested in research collaboration. Researchers active in the field of artistic research, or related fields, are welcome to propose contributions.

Upcoming Collegium Events

Thinking at the Edge – workshop with Guðbjörg R Jóhannesdóttir. January 20 (internal event)

Research Dramaturgy – what happens in between. Project Day with Camilla Eeg-Tverbakk. January 21 (internal event)

From embodied words to artistic components. Project Day with Esa Kirkkopelto. January 22 (internal event)

Keep yourself informed about the programme – thm.lu.se/oresund-collegium-artistic-research


Esa Kirkkopelto, Kent Sjöström, Sven Bjerstedt, Jörgen Dahlqvist, Eva Sæther, and many others