Chamber Cinema Set
Simon Christensen & Robert Schaller
10 June 2019 - 28 September 2019

‘Chamber Cinema Set’ is an ongoing project that Danish composer, Simon Christensen and the American filmmaker, Robert Schaller, began back in 2012. The main goal of the artistic collaboration was to create live events that involves Chamber music and analogue film projected live on stage. A substantial part of Christensen’s works focuses on the combination of acoustic instruments and analogue, electronic sound sources, but he also writes music for traditional combinations of acoustic instruments.

Parts of the ‘Chamber Cinema Set’ have been performed live in Holland, Denmark, USA and Canada. The live setting involves Robert Schaller and ‘Mono Duo’. ‘Mono Duo’ is Simon Christensen performing on zither, percussion and analogue electronics, alongside with classical cellist, Peter Morrison.

The ‘Chamber Cinema Set’ is five movies, one without music and four with original music.

1: Under The Shadow Of Marcus Mountain (2011)

2: Mail (2012-2013)

3: If Not One And One (2014)

4: Three Years On (2016)

5: Signals (2018)

The Danish Art Council decided back in 2017 to support a release of the ‘Chamber Cinema Set’ project on DVD/Blu-ray. It will be released late 2019.

The audio mix in 2.0 and 5.1 was done by the composer at the AIC between June and September 2019.

Simon Christensen, Robert Schaller